Welcome To Ashis Research Group

Ashis Research Group

Ashis research group at IIT Madras works on both fundamentals and applications of microfluidics. The group is interested in the identification and demonstration of unique and interesting microscale phenomena related to droplet microfluidics, acoustofluidics, magnetofluidics, capillarity and wetting. The team is focused on unraveling the underlying mechanisms and developing understanding of such phenomena. Moreover, effort is put towards exploiting these phenomena for the development of technologies for various applications. The group’s fundamental research activities falls in the broad areas of acoustofluidics, droplet microfluidics and capillarity and wetting.

The group is equally committed towards developing microfluidic platforms and lab on chip technologies mainly for healthcare  applications. The team has developed a microfluidic platform for in-situ and real-time monitoring of gasotransmitters in blood for early diagnosis of sepsis (video). The group has been developing microfluidic platforms for detection, isolation and genomic profiling of CTCs in single-cell format for prognosis of cancer (video), and LOC biosensor for dengue NS1 antigen.

Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received The SwarnaJayanti Fellowship Award 2017-2018, DST, India.

If interested to join our group please email your CV to ashis@iitm.ac.in

Congratulations Dr. Abhishek Raj and Dr. Karthick S on your selection as faculty for IIT Patna and IIITDM, Kancheepuram, respectively.



  • Sudeepthi A. and Utsab Banerjee own Best Student Presentation Awards at the 7th International and 45th National Fluid Mechanics and Fluid Power (FMFP) conference held at IIT Bombay during 10 - 12, December 2018.

  • Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received The SwarnaJayanti Fellowship Award 2017 - 2018 (Engineering Sciences), Dept. of Science & Technology, India.

  • Dr. Karthick S, alumni (PhD scholar) of our lab is offered a regular faculty (Assistant Professor) position at IIITDM, Kancheepuram and BITS, Pilani.

  • Dr. Abhishek Raj, who did his PhD in our Lab (2013-2018), has joined as a Post-Doc with Prof. Todd Sulcheck at Georgia Tech.

  • Dr. Jayaprakash K S a PhD scholar from our lab joined ESPCI, Paris for a post-doc position.


  • Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received the Young Faculty Recognition Award (YFRA) – 2017, IIT Madras.


  • Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received the Institute Research & Development Awards (IRDA) – Early Career Level Award, IIT Madras - 2017.


  • Our work on capillary and acoustics based blood-plasma separation got selected for display in the Exhibition on Innovations in Medical Science and Bio Technology for Grassroots Applications on 09 March, 2017 at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.
  • Our research work on “Capillary based blood-plasma separation” appeared in Hindu on 26 Sep 2016.
  • Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) Young Engineer Award – 2013.
  • Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen received the Institute of Engineers India (IEI) Young Engineer Award – 2013.
  • Dr. Abhishek Raj, alumni (PhD scholar) of our lab is offered a regular faculty (Assistant Professor) position at IIT Patna.



  • Prof. Amy Shen, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan.
  • Prof. Sushanta K Mitra, University of Waterloo, Canada.
  • Prof. Thomas Laurell, Lund University, Sweden.
  • Prof. Leslie Yeo, RMIT University, Australia.
  • Dr. Paul Ramesh, Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Apollo Hospitals, Chennai.
  • Dr. Anil Tarigopula, Pathologist, Apollo Hospitals, Chennai.
  • Prof. K M Muraleedharan, Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras.
  • Prof. Anil Prabhakar, Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras.